An Overview of the Honolulu Marathon

Thomas Spetter has worked at Bristol-Myers Squibb since 2006 and currently serves as a key account manager for the company’s market access division. A recreational runner, Thomas Spetter has taken part in a number of competitive events over the years, including the Honolulu Marathon.

Launched in 1973 on the island of Oahu, the Honolulu Marathon has steadily grown in popularity and now attracts tens of thousands of runners each year. Offering one of the most beautiful marathon courses in the world, the event takes participants along Waikiki beach, around Diamond Head, and past the Koko Head volcanic craters.

Several Olympic medalists and prominent marathon runners have won the Honolulu Marathon, including Ibrahim Hussein, Jon Anderson, and Kim Merritt, who all later went on to win the Boston Marathon as well. The male and female winners of the Honolulu Marathon each receive $40,000 and an extra $15,000 if he or she breaks the course record. In total, $150,000 in prize money is handed out at the event each year.